Newcastle United v AFC Bournemouth  - Premier League
Photo by Robin Jones - AFC Bournemouth/AFC Bournemouth via Getty Images

List of trophies Newcastle United have won

Newcastle United have not threatened to win any silverware for a long time now, but the club has plenty of trophies to its name, thanks to the endeavors of many legends that have graced St. James’ Park.

The last title won was the Championship which of course led to promotion back to the Premier League in 2017.

Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images

There have been no recent cup successes to speak of, which is hugely disappointing.


There was potentially a very good chance to win the League Cup this season, but a 2-1 defeat to Brentford in the quarter-finals resulted in yet more anguish.

Here are all the trophies Newcastle United Football Club has won in its history to date:

  • First Division/Premier League (4) – 1905, 1907, 1909, 1927
  • Second Division/Championship (4) – 1965, 1993, 2010, 2017
  • FA Cup (6) – 1910, 1924, 1932, 1951, 1952, 1955
  • Charity Shield (1) – 1909
  • European Fairs Cup (1) – 1969
  • UEFA Intertoto Cup (1) – 2006
  • Texaco Cup (2) – 1974, 1975
  • Angol-Italian Cup – 1973

The last trophy Newcastle won that wasn’t a second division title was the Intertoto Cup back in 2006.

The last time the Magpies were champions of England was all the way back in 1927, with Hughie Gallagher’s 34 goals that season being key to the team’s success.

That title actually meant Newcastle were more successful in terms of trophies won than Manchester United and Arsenal at the time.

More than 90 years on, fans dream of another league title, but know there is zero chance of that happening anytime soon without appropriate handling from the owner.

The Leicester City story of a few years ago gives hope to any club, but realistically Newcastle need a far more ambitious owner and manager.

Newcastle have won six FA Cups to date, the last triumph coming back in 1955 with the Toon defeating Manchester City 3-1 at Wembley in front of 100,000 people.

City were forced to play the majority of the game with 10 men after Jimmy Meadows seriously injured himself – substitutes were not allowed in English football at the time.

Newcastle have appeared in three finals since then, but that remains the last major trophy they have won.

Fans today are desperate to see their club scoop some silverware given it has been so long since the last triumph.

With Mike Ashley and Steve Bruce currently running the show though, there aren’t too many getting their hopes up.

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment