Newcastle United Trophy History - Geordie Boot Boys

Trophy History

Newcastle United’s trophy history is full of historical honours with the St James’ Park outfit enduring a barren period today. The Magpies last lifted a piece of major domestic silverware in 1955 and enjoyed European success in 1969. But Eddie Howe guided the Toon back into a major final in February 2023.

The Tyneside natives featured in their first cup final since 1999 with the English Football League Cup (EFL Cup). Newcastle had not contested a major final since losing the 1998/99 FA Cup final. But a 2-0 defeat to Manchester United at Wembley meant the Toon’s 54-year wait to win another title continued.

Newcastle United have won the English top-flight title four times

Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images

Newcastle enjoyed a prosperous period in the club’s history in the early 1900s as the Magpies lifted three top-flight trophies. Frank Watt led the Toon to the top of the English game over a 40-year spell as the secretary. He would also do so once more in 1926/27 but no Toon boss has repeated his work.

Newcastle United’s top-flight trophy record:

1904/05 (English Football League, Division 1)




Alongside their four top-flight honours, Newcastle’s trophy history features four titles in the second-tier of the English game. The Magpies have lifted the second-tier crown in four separate decades and under three different names with the division rebranding itself multiple times throughout the years.

Newcastle United’s second-tier trophy record:

1964/65 (English Football League, Division 2)

1992/93 (English Football League, First Division)

2009/10 (Championship)


The Magpies have held aloft the FA Cup six times

Photo by Daily Herald/Mirrorpix/Getty Images

Newcastle’s trophy record places them among the best in the history of the FA Cup with six titles to date. But the Magpies have not won the oldest national football competition in the world since the 1954/55 season. The Toon have also lost in the final on seven occasions, most recently in 1998/99.

Newcastle United’s FA Cup trophy record:

1909/10 (beat Barnsley 2-0 in a replay of the final)

1923/24 (beat Aston Villa 2-0 in the final)

1931/32 (beat Arsenal 2-1 in the final)

1950/51 (beat Blackpool 2-0 in the final)

1951/52 (beat Arsenal 1-0 in the final)

1954/55 (beat Manchester City 3-1 in the final)

Newcastle United have won the Community Shield once

Newcastle’s trophy history only features one Charity Shield/Community Shield title having lifted the honour way back in 1909. The Magpies have featured in the traditional curtain-raiser to the English season on six occasions. But they last played the showpiece fixture in 1996 with Manchester United.

Newcastle United’s Charity Shield/Community Shield trophy record:

1909 (beat Northampton Town 2-0)

The Toon have three European honours in their trophy cabinet

Photo by NCJ Archive/Mirrorpix/Getty Images

Along with their domestic honours, Newcastle’s trophy cabinet also comprises three European cups from throughout the club’s history. The Toon first lifted a European honour during the Magpies’ first time competing in Europe after lifting the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup way back in the 1968/69 campaign.

Newcastle have also secured further European titles for their trophy cabinet with the Anglo-Italian Cup and Intertoto Cup. Yet the Toon did not win the Intertoto Cup via a final. Instead, they did so by going the furthest in the 2006/07 UEFA Cup from the 11 co-winners of a three-round tournament to qualify.

Newcastle United’s European trophy record:

1968/69 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup (beat Ujpest FC 6-2 on aggregate in the final)

1973 Anglo-Italian Cup (beat Fiorentina 2-1 in the final)

2006 UEFA Intertoto Cup (Reached the UEFA Cup Round of 16)