Ahead of the new Premier League season, Newcastle United have confirmed their 25-man squad. The club have also confirmed the official squad numbers for the upcoming campaign.

As expected, Steve Bruce’s five new signings have been named. Our deadline day arrivals have been given numbers, with Andy Carroll taking the number seven shirt and Emil Krafth wearing 17.

(Photo by Serena Taylor/Newcastle United via Getty Images)

As well as our new signings being handed shirt numbers, three other first-team players have changed numbers.

Firstly, Martin Dubravka is now officially Newcastle’s number one. He’s been the first choice goalkeeper ever since he arrived, and now he has the number to back it up. This is something we predicted following Newcastle’s squad announcement for the Asia Trophy.

Dubravka becoming number one has meant that Rob Elliot has had to change, and he has taken on the number 21 jersey.

(Photo by Kieran Galvin/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

The third change was also enforced. Before Dwight Gayle left on loan last summer, he was the number nine. But his departure saw Salomon Rondon take the shirt, and now it’s record signing Joelinton’s number.


Gayle reportedly wasn’t happy about losing the number nine shirt, and will instead wear number 12 this season.

The other interesting thing to note from Newcastle’s squad announcement is who has missed out.

(Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)

The club have confirmed that Jack Colback, Rolando Aarons, Achraf Lazaar, Henri Saivet and Jamie Sterry have been left out of the Premier League squad.

These five players will now have until the end of the month to find a new club, otherwise it’ll be reserve football for them until January. However, they will not be able to join a Premier League or Championship club.

Have something to tell us about this article?